Apply nowApply now!
 

BA (Hons) in Professional Dance and Musical Theatre

Academic and applied training for a career in the performing arts

Scroll to content
Urdang Academy
Course validated by

Our three-year BA programme connects aspiring students to a career in the performing arts through outstanding technical training and academic study.

The structure of the degree programme offers 3 different pathways ( Triple-threat, Actor/Singer Focus, Dance Focus) that allow you to focus on your specialisms. Our BA programme nurtures raw talent and allows students to pursue specific interests, without boundaries. This programme has been validated by Anglia Ruskin University.

This course is for students 18 and up, who are keen to be academically challenged by the theory of musical theatre and dance alongside learning the craft of performance. The challenging BA programme provides students the opportunity to train to the highest standards for a professional career in musical theatre and dance, whilst gaining solid academic skills that will enhance career prospects upon graduation.

The course:

  • Full time, delivered over three years
  • Vocational and academic studies
  • Practical skills in dance, singing and acting
  • Productions showcase students learning in a range of Dance and Musical Theatre disciplines
  • Facilitates greater understanding of cultural and historical developments in dance and musical theatre
  • Emphasises the importance of academic study through independent research projects
  • Offer opportunities to be creative through guided choreography projects
  • Vocational classes are taught in groups no bigger than 18, which ensures individual learning

This programme evaluates students on the quality of their academic and practical work.

Entry requirements

Essential

    • A passion for the performing arts
    • 80 points (new UCAS tariff) through Level 3 academic qualifications (BTEC, A-Level, Scottish Highers etc)
    • C in GCSE English Language (or equivalent).

EU and international students will need to have gained an Academic IELTS score of 6.5.   For details of entrance requirement by country please check this link: https://www.anglia.ac.uk/international/entry-requirements

After the first year, students may opt to follow a more focused pathway:  triple threat training, singer/acting focus or a more dance-based focus. This allows students to elect their direction of study in the second and third years in line with their natural talent and likely destinations. The pathways give students the opportunity to explore their strengths and passions in greater detail, and opens the degree to applicants whose strengths lie in or one or two specialist areas.

Below are the core subjects studied by all students.  However, depending on the pathway chosen by the students, greater emphasis will be placed on specialist disciplines.

"The warm and friendly staff and family atmosphere along with training that is tailored to me as an individual make urdang a fantastic place to study"

Ethan-James Luke

Graduate 2017, Diploma Track C

Key Dates

Open Days

Friday 19th January 2018 (fully booked)
please contact us on admissions@theurdang.london to be added to our waiting list

Auditions

Sunday 21st January 2018

Sunday 28th January 2018

Monday 12th February 2018

Tuesday 13th February 2018

Wednesday 14th February 2018

Thursday 15th February 2018

Monday 19th February 2018

Tuesday 20th February 2018

Sunday 22nd April 2018

Sunday 20th May

Recall auditions will be held between March and May 2018

Summer Courses

Summer School with English as a second language
Monday 16th July - Friday 20th Jully 2018

Pre Audition Course
Monday 23rd July - Friday 27th July 2018

Summer School
Monday 30th July - Friday 3rd August 2018

Performances

Third Year Musicals
Friday 9th February - Saturday 3rd March 2018

Move It
Friday 16th March - Sunday 18th March 2018

Link Graduate Showcase
Friday 20th April 2018 (closed agents show)

Graduate Revue
Thursday 21st June & Friday 22nd June 2018

Degree Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Degree First Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Monday 4th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Summer Show Rehearsals | Tech/Dress
Monday 14th May 2018 to Thursday 28th June 2018

Performance Term
Friday 29th June to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Degree Second Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Tuesday 9th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to
Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Degree Third Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Monday 8th January 2018 to Saturday 21st April 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Tuesday 8th May 2018 to Friday 22nd June 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Diploma First Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Monday 4th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018
Semester Three
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Second Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018
Semester Three
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Third Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Foundation Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Foundation

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Wednesday 6th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Term One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Term Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Monday 23rd April 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 16th February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Tuesday 3rd April 2018

AVT Course Term Dates 2017/2018

AVT

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Wednesday 6th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Term One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Term Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Monday 23rd April 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 16th February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Tuesday 3rd April 2018

Summer 2018
Term Three
Tuesday 14th May 2018 to Thursday 14th June 2018

(PLEASE NOTE THAT THE OCR EXAMINATION WINDOW LASTS UNTIL THE END OF JUNE. ALL AVT STUDENTS MUST BE AVAILABLE UNTIL THE END OF JUNE)

Applications

Welcome to Urdang Academys online application system. Here you can apply and manage your:

  • Open day
  • Application for full-time course and
  • Auditions

At each stage we will e-mail you to notify you where you are in the application process and what steps you need to take next.

Confused about the application process?…

Find out how it works