Urdang Academy

Brian Friedman

Patron

Brian is an internationally acclaimed dancer, choreographer and creative director.

He has worked with an impressive string of artists and celebrities to date which includes Michael Jackson, Justin Bieber, Britney Spears, Beyoncé, Rihanna, Celine Dion, Janet Jackson, Prince, Mariah Carey, Usher, P!nK, Nicole Scherzinger, Christina Aguilera, One Direction, Olly Murs and many more.

As a creative, his talents extend to the film industry, Charlie’s Angels: “Full Throttle”, “You Got Served”, “She’s all That”, “Austin Powers Gold Member” to name a few. But most of us will have heard from the influential American star from his involvement judging, choreographing and producing “The X Factor” UK, “The X Factor” USA and “America’s Got Talent”.
I am thrilled and honored to be taking on the role of Patron at The Urdang Academy. Passing on knowledge to the next generation of dancers is not only my duty but it also warms my heart. Over the years I have watched alumni from the Academy audition for me and have cast them in many projects. They are truly receiving the best training around!

Key Dates

Auditions

Monday 19th February 2018

Tuesday 20th February 2018

Sunday 22nd April 2018

Sunday 13th May 2018

Sunday 20th May 2018

Recall and funding auditions will be held between February and May 2018. Our final funding audition will be held on Sunday 20th May 2018.

Summer Courses

Summer School with English as a second language
Monday 16th July - Friday 20th Jully 2018

Pre Audition Course
Monday 23rd July - Friday 27th July 2018

Summer School
Monday 30th July - Friday 3rd August 2018

Performances

Third Year Musicals
Friday 9th February - Saturday 3rd March 2018

Move It
Friday 16th March - Sunday 18th March 2018

Link Graduate Showcase
Friday 20th April 2018 (closed agents show)

Graduate Revue
Thursday 21st June & Friday 22nd June 2018

Degree Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Degree First Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Monday 4th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Summer Show Rehearsals | Tech/Dress
Monday 14th May 2018 to Thursday 28th June 2018

Performance Term
Friday 29th June to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Degree Second Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Tuesday 9th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to
Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Degree Third Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Monday 8th January 2018 to Saturday 21st April 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Tuesday 8th May 2018 to Friday 22nd June 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Diploma First Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Monday 4th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018
Semester Three
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Second Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018
Semester Three
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Third Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Foundation Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Foundation

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Wednesday 6th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Term One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Term Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Monday 23rd April 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 16th February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Tuesday 3rd April 2018

AVT Course Term Dates 2017/2018

AVT

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Wednesday 6th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Term One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Term Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Monday 23rd April 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 16th February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Tuesday 3rd April 2018

Summer 2018
Term Three
Tuesday 14th May 2018 to Thursday 14th June 2018

(PLEASE NOTE THAT THE OCR EXAMINATION WINDOW LASTS UNTIL THE END OF JUNE. ALL AVT STUDENTS MUST BE AVAILABLE UNTIL THE END OF JUNE)

Applications

Welcome to Urdang Academys online application system. Here you can apply and manage your:

  • Open day
  • Application for full-time course and
  • Auditions

At each stage we will e-mail you to notify you where you are in the application process and what steps you need to take next.

Confused about the application process?…

Find out how it works