Urdang Academy
Rob Archibald

Rob Archibald

Role Director of Musical Theatre Department
Department Musical Theatre
Faculty

Rob Archibald (BA PG.Dip.Perf PGCLTHE LRAM FHEA Dip.SBM/IHM) heads up the Musical Theatre department and is Creative Director for the third year musicals.

He was formally the Head of Singing & Music at LAMDA in London, following his role as Head of Singing at Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts, London. He is a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy and is also a qualified Massage Therapist. Rob originally studied as an actor/singer/dancer and his credits include: Les Miserables, Batboy, Ragtime, Grease, Riverdance, Jerry Springer – the Opera, Carousel, Ragtime, The Wild Party, Moon Landing, Grab Me A Gondola, Dude! Where’s My Teddy Bear?

As Musical Director his credits include: Oliver! Grease, Little Shop of Horrors, The Drowsy Chaperone, The Secret Garden, Parade, Sweeney Todd and most recently, MD/Arranger for Linzi Hateley – True Colours.

Rob also regularly coaches professional performers/productions around the UK. Recent credits include: Soul Sister (Savoy Theatre) and Loserville (Garrick Theatre) and the Glee Club Challenge (Indigo 02). As a composer his credits include: The Laramie Project, The Temperamentals and his debut album ‘Scrapbook’ with fellow composer Verity Quade, featuring many West End performers. He co-wrote the song ‘Confidence is Consciencless’, featured in the Sky TV documentary ‘Life Is Beauty-Full’.

Key Dates

Summer Courses

Pre Audition Course
Monday 23rd July - Friday 27th July 2018

Connect Summer School (London)
Monday 30th July 2018 - Friday 3rd August 2018
Monday 6th August 2018 - Friday 10th August 2018

Connect UK Summer School
Belfast
Monday 30th July 2018 - Friday 3rd August 2018

Bristol
Monday 6th August 2018 - Friday 10th August 2018

Newcastle
Monday 13th August 2018 - Friday 17th August 2018

Performances

Graduate Revue
Thursday 21st June & Friday 22nd June 2018

Summer Show
Friday 29th, Saturday 30th June and Sunday 1st July 2018

Degree Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Degree First Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Monday 4th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Summer Show Rehearsals | Tech/Dress
Monday 14th May 2018 to Thursday 28th June 2018

Performance Term
Friday 29th June to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Degree Second Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Tuesday 9th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to
Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Degree Third Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Monday 8th January 2018 to Saturday 21st April 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Summer 2018 (Optional)
Performance Term
Tuesday 8th May 2018 to Friday 22nd June 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Diploma First Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Monday 4th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018
Semester Three
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Second Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Semester Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Friday 11th May 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 23rd February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Monday 2nd April 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer 2018
Semester Three
Monday 14th May 2018 to Sunday 1st July 2018

Bank Holiday
Monday 28th May 2018

Diploma Third Year

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Thursday 7th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Semester One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Foundation Course Term Dates 2017/2018

Foundation

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Wednesday 6th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Term One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Term Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Monday 23rd April 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 16th February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Tuesday 3rd April 2018

AVT Course Term Dates 2017/2018

AVT

Autumn 2017
Induction Week
Wednesday 6th September 2017 to Friday 8th September 2017

Term One
Monday 11th September 2017 to Wednesday 20th December 2017

Half Term
Monday 23rd October 2017 to Friday 27th October 2017

Spring 2018
Term Two
Thursday 11th January 2018 to Monday 23rd April 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to Friday 16th February 2018

Easter Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to Tuesday 3rd April 2018

Summer 2018
Term Three
Tuesday 14th May 2018 to Thursday 14th June 2018

(PLEASE NOTE THAT THE OCR EXAMINATION WINDOW LASTS UNTIL THE END OF JUNE. ALL AVT STUDENTS MUST BE AVAILABLE UNTIL THE END OF JUNE)

Applications

Welcome to Urdang Academys online application system. Here you can apply and manage your:

  • Open day
  • Application for full-time course and
  • Auditions

At each stage we will e-mail you to notify you where you are in the application process and what steps you need to take next.

Confused about the application process?…

Find out how it works