Apply nowApply now!
 

Access to Vocational Training (AVT)

A fully funded two-year vocational course

Scroll to content
Urdang Academy
Course validated by

As a funded two-year specialist pre-vocational course, the AVT will best prepare you for entry to high level diploma and degree courses in performing arts.

The Access to Vocational Training course (AVT) is a funded two-year dance and musical theatre course for 16 to 18 year olds (Level 3 Cambridge Technical Diploma – 720GLH).

As an affordable, specialist pre-vocational training scheme, the AVT will best prepare you for entry to high level diploma and degree courses in performing arts.  Upon successful completion, you will gain an OCR qualification that will earn you up to 112 UCAS points (equivalent to two A-Levels).  Students are being taught in classes no bigger than 18.

Entry Requirements

Grades 4(C) in English and Maths.

• To meet to talent criteria through an audition process

• To have achieved a grade C/4 in both English and Maths

• To live within reasonable daily travelling distance of roughly one hour or so’s journey to college and one or so’s journey home. This will depend on the method and availability of travel means not postcode.

Please note that if you have already completed two years at Sixth form or on any other BTEC/Level 3 equivalents, you will not be eligible for the AVT, our Foundation course will be your best alternative.

The course

The course includes the following core subjects:-

  • Dance – genres include Ballet, Jazz, Tap, Contemporary and Commercial/Street;
  • Singing – development of your voice and vocal techniques both as a soloist and ensemble;
  • Acting – understanding key influences, learn to develop and apply a range of acting techniques in performance;
  • Integrated Performance;
  • End of year performance working with various choreographers;
  • Performing Art Business;
  • Arts Administration – investigating work between performance jobs and considering freelance employment.

Key Dates

Open Days & Auditions 2019/2020

Open days

Open days
All our Open Days are now fully booked.

We now recommend making an online application. We audition everyone who applies. Click on APPLY NOW for more details.

On the audition day candidates will spend all day at the Urdang and get the chance to speak to staff and current students. Parents/guardians will also be given an introductory talk by staff at the beginning of the day.

If you have any further enquiries please email: admissions@theurdang.london

Friday 22nd November 2019 FULLY BOOKED
Friday 17th January 2020 FULLY BOOKED
Monday 20th January 2020 FULLY BOOKED

Auditions

Auditions
Sunday 8th December 2019 FULLY BOOKED

Sunday 12th January 2020 FULLY BOOKED

Sunday 19th January 2020

Sunday 26th January 2020

Monday 17th February 2020

Tuesday 18th February 2020

All auditions commence at 8:30 am. Further dates to be announced.

To make an application click on APPLY NOW and register your details.

Term Dates 2019/2020

Degree First year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Semester One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Reading Week
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Semester Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Reading Week
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer Show (optional)
Rehearsals Start
Monday 18th May 2020

Show Ends
Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Degree Second year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Semester One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Friday 20th December 2019

Reading Week
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Semester Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Reading Week
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer Show (optional)
Rehearsals Start
Monday 18th May 2020

Show Ends
Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Degree Third year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Semester One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Reading Week
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Semester Two
Thursday 2nd January 2020 to Saturday 16th May 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Diploma First year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer 2020
Term Three (incl. Summer Show)
Monday 18th May 2020 to Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Diploma Second year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer 2020
Term Three (incl. Summer Show)
Monday 18th May 2020 to Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Diploma Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2019
Term Two
Thursday 2nd January 2020 to Saturday 16th May 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 18th May 2020 to Friday 12th June 2020

Foundation

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Wednesday 4th September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 22nd May 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Tuesday 14th April 2020

AVT First year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Wednesday 4th September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 12th June 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Tuesday 14th April 2020

AVT Second year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Wednesday 4th September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 12th June 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Tuesday 14th April 2020

Performances 2020

Third Year Musicals

Ghost
Friday 7th and Saturday 8th February 2020

The Addams Family
Friday 14th and Saturday 15th February 2020

In The Heights
Friday 21st and Saturday 22nd February 2020

Our House
Friday 28th and Saturday 29th February 2020

Pippin
Friday 6th & Saturday 7th March 2020

Graduate Showcase

Wednesday 13th, Thursday 14th, Friday 15th and Saturday 16th May 2020
*Closed agents shows on Thursday 14th May 2020

First and Second Year Summer show

Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th July 2020

Part-Time Courses 2020

Pre Audition

Pre-Audition 2020
Monday 27th July 2020 - Friday 31st July 2020

Summer School

Summer School 2020 - Week 1
Monday 3rd August 2020 - Friday 7th August 2020

Summer School 2020 - Week 2
Monday 10th August 2020 - Friday 14th August 2020

Summer School Plus 2020
Monday 10th August 2020 - Friday 21st August 2020

Applications

Applications for 2020 Entry 

You can now apply for one of our full time 2020 courses, please register and you will receive an activation email.

Audition dates are listed under Key Dates.  Further dates will be announced shortly.

If you have any further queries please email us at: admissions@theurdang.london

Find out how it works