ISTD Level 4 Diploma in Dance Education

A teaching qualification aimed at professional performers and graduates from vocational colleges

Scroll to content
Urdang Academy
Course validated by

The new Level 4 Diploma in Dance Education (DDE) for Theatre dance genres is available for examination from September 1st 2018. Urdang Academy is offering the qualification to graduates from vocational colleges and professional performers, initially, in the Modern and Tap genres. You will be taught by experienced tutors who examine and teach for the ISTD faculties.

Classes take place weekly on a Monday starting at 10 am. You will have 2 technique classes during the day (at Intermediate standard) and 2 sessions for subject analysis to focus on the teaching of technique syllabus. Initially, you will begin studying the practical units of the course and the contextual units will be delivered through a mix of lectures/tutorials and distance learning at a later date.

Content and Assessment

Unit 1: Preparing for Safe Teaching
You could be exempt from this diploma with a Trinity Diploma in Professional Dance/Musical Theatre (and some degree courses).

Unit 2: Observing, Assisting and Teaching Practice
You will be required to undertake 4 lesson observations, 5 lessons in an assistant capacity and leading 5 lessons of 45 mins duration.

Unit 3: Vocational Graded Examination in Dance: Intermediate
Assessed through a practical exam – you will be exempt if holding Intermediates in Modern and Tap with the ISTD or other recognised exam bodies.

Unit 4: Dance Practice
You will be assessed on your syllabus and teaching knowledge in Modern and Tap focusing on Primary to Intermediate level.

Unit 5: Social, Emotional and Cognitive Development
A written unit focusing on the development of students. You will be assessed via a series of online tasks.

Funding
The fees are available upon application. To offer maximum flexibility, fees are payable per module and per genre so that you can spread the cost of the training.  Learning materials (such as syllabus books) and examination fees are payable in addition to the module costs.

Please contact istd@theurdang.london for further information and registration documents.

Key Dates

Open Days & Auditions 2019/2020

Open days

You will be able to register online for a free place at an Open Day from mid-August.

Open Days run between 1.15pm and 4pm and applicants can bring one guest.

Friday 4th October 2019
Monday 14th October 2019
Monday 4th November 2019
Friday 15th November 2019
Friday 22nd November 2019
Friday 17th January 2020
Monday 20th January 2020

Dates may be subject to change.

Auditions

You will be able to apply online for an audition from mid-August. You will automatically be allocated the next available date.

We audition everyone who applies and auditions typically last from 8.30am to around 6pm.

Sunday 3rd November 2019
Sunday 24th November 2019
Sunday 8th December 2019
Sunday 12th January 2020
Sunday 19th January 2020
Sunday 26th January 2020
Monday 17th February 2020
Tuesday 18th February 2020
Wednesday 19th February 2020

Dates may be subject to change.

Term Dates 2019/2020

Degree First year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Semester One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Reading Week
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Semester Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Reading Week
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer Show (optional)
Rehearsals Start
Monday 18th May 2020

Show Ends
Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Degree Second year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Semester One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Friday 20th December 2019

Reading Week
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Semester Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Reading Week
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer Show (optional)
Rehearsals Start
Monday 18th May 2020

Show Ends
Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Degree Third year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Semester One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Reading Week
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Semester Two
Thursday 2nd January 2020 to Saturday 16th May 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Diploma First year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer 2020
Term Three (incl. Summer Show)
Monday 18th May 2020 to Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Diploma Second year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 15th May 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer 2020
Term Three (incl. Summer Show)
Monday 18th May 2020 to Sunday 12th July 2020

Assessment Retake Period
Monday 13th July 2020 to Wednesday 15th July 2020

Diploma Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 2nd September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2019
Term Two
Thursday 2nd January 2020 to Saturday 16th May 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 18th May 2020 to Friday 12th June 2020

Foundation

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Wednesday 4th September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 22nd May 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Tuesday 14th April 2020

AVT First year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Wednesday 4th September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 12th June 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Tuesday 14th April 2020

AVT Second year

Autumn 2019
Induction Week
Wednesday 4th September 2019

Term One
Monday 9th September 2019 to Wednesday 11th December 2019

Half Term
Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Spring 2020
Term Two
Monday 6th January 2020 to Friday 12th June 2020

Half Term
Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Easter Break
Monday 6th April 2020 to Tuesday 14th April 2020

Performances 2018/2019

Summer School/Pre Audition Courses 2019/2020

Summer School

Monday 29th July 2019 – Friday 2nd August 2019
Monday 5th August 2019 – Friday 9th August 2019

Pre Audition

Summer 2019
Monday 22nd July 2019 - Friday 26th July 2019
Monday 5th August 2019 - Friday 9th August 2019

Autumn 2019
Monday 21st October 2019 - Friday 25th October 2019

Applications

Thank you for your interest in applying to the Urdang Academy. Unfortunately, online applications for 2019 entry are now closed.

  

If you would like to make a late application please email admissions@theurdang.london and we can send you details of how to prepare a video audition for us. We cannot guarantee a place on your chosen course at this time.

  

Online applications and registration for Open Days for 2020 entry will go live in August. You can still register your contact details here in advance of this. Auditions will run between November 2019 and April 2020. Please check our Key Dates page for further details over the summer.

  

Find out how it works