Apply nowApply now!
 

ISTD Level 4 Diploma in Dance Education

A teaching qualification aimed at professional performers and graduates from vocational colleges

Scroll to content
Urdang Academy
Course validated by

The new Level 4 Diploma in Dance Education (DDE) for Theatre dance genres is available for examination from September 1st 2018. Urdang Academy is offering the qualification to graduates from vocational colleges and professional performers, initially, in the Modern and Tap genres. You will be taught by experienced tutors who examine and teach for the ISTD faculties.

Classes take place weekly on a Monday starting at 10 am. You will have 2 technique classes during the day (at Intermediate standard) and 2 sessions for subject analysis to focus on the teaching of technique syllabus. Initially, you will begin studying the practical units of the course and the contextual units will be delivered through a mix of lectures/tutorials and distance learning at a later date.

Content and Assessment

Unit 1: Preparing for Safe Teaching
You could be exempt from this diploma with a Trinity Diploma in Professional Dance/Musical Theatre (and some degree courses).

Unit 2: Observing, Assisting and Teaching Practice
You will be required to undertake 4 lesson observations, 5 lessons in an assistant capacity and leading 5 lessons of 45 mins duration.

Unit 3: Vocational Graded Examination in Dance: Intermediate
Assessed through a practical exam – you will be exempt if holding Intermediates in Modern and Tap with the ISTD or other recognised exam bodies.

Unit 4: Dance Practice
You will be assessed on your syllabus and teaching knowledge in Modern and Tap focusing on Primary to Intermediate level.

Unit 5: Social, Emotional and Cognitive Development
A written unit focusing on the development of students. You will be assessed via a series of online tasks.

Funding
The fees are available upon application. To offer maximum flexibility, fees are payable per module and per genre so that you can spread the cost of the training.  Learning materials (such as syllabus books) and examination fees are payable in addition to the module costs.

Please contact nathan@theurdang.london for further information and registration documents.

Key Dates

Open Days & Auditions 2018/2019

Open days

Friday 18th January 2019 (fully booked)

Monday 21st January 2019 (fully booked)

Monday 11th March 2019
(+Teachers’ Open Day from 9.30am contact us for more details)

If you wish to attend an Open Day that is fully booked email admissions@theurdang.london with your preferred date, the name of the applicant and any guests, to join a waiting list.

Auditions

Sunday 13th January 2019 (Fully Booked)

Sunday 20th January 2019 (Fully Booked)

Sunday 27th January 2019 (Fully Booked)

Wednesday 30th January 2019 (Fully Booked)

Wednesday 13th February 2019 (Fully Booked)

Monday 18th February 2019 (Fully Booked)

Tuesday 19th February 2019 (Fully Booked)

Wednesday 20th February 2019 (Fully Booked)

Wednesday 6th March 2019 (Fully Booked)

Wednesday 13th March (Fully Booked)

Wednesday 20th March (Fully Booked)

Wednesday 3rd April

Wednesday 10th April

Further dates TBC

When you apply you will be allocated the next available date by email. You can either confirm this date or select an alternative.

Term Dates 2018/2019

Degree First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 17th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Reading Week
Monday 8th April 2019 to Friday 12th April 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Degree Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Wednesday 2nd January 2019 to Friday 17th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Reading Week
Monday 8th April 2019 to Friday 12th April 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Degree Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Thursday 3rd January 2019 to Saturday 11th May 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Dissertation Hand-in
Friday 26th April 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 13th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Diploma First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to
Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 10th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes 2019
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Diploma Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 10th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes 2019
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Diploma Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to
Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Thursday 3rd January 2019 Saturday 11th May 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 13th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Foundation

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Wednesday 12th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

AVT First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Wednesday 12th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

AVT Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Performances 2018/2019

Third Year Musicals

Bernie Grant Arts Centre
The Wedding Singer
8th & 9th February 2019

The Secret Garden
15th & 16th February 2019

Spring Awakening
22nd & 23rd February 2019

Merrily We Roll Along
1st & 2nd March 2019

Bad Girls
8th & 9th March 2019

Link Graduate Showcase

8th to 11th May 2019

Foundation/ Second Year AVT Showcase

Thursday 16th May 2019

Pre Audition Courses/Summer School 2018/2019

Pre Audition Course

Autumn 2018
Monday 22nd October 2018 - Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
TBC

Summer 2019
Monday 22nd July 2019 - Friday 26th July 2019

Summer School

Summer 2019 - Week 1
Monday 29th July 2019 – Friday 2nd August 2019

Summer 2019 - Week 2
Monday 5th August 2019 – Friday 9th August 2019

Applications

Applications for Auditions and Open Days for 2019 entry are now open.

Auditions commence in November and last a whole day. Once you have registered,  you will also be able to sign up for a free Open Day with up to two named guests. (see KEY DATES)

If you registered prior to 25th September 2018, you will have to reset your password* as we have now improved our security systems. No previous applications will have been saved. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Find out how it works