Apply nowApply now!
 

Health and Wellbeing

A comprehensive approach to student health and wellbeing

Scroll to content
Urdang Academy

Urdang's high-quality training is fierce and challenging but our fierceness never comes at the cost of our students' health.

Our student care programme ensures that we target all aspects of our students’ wellbeing, not just their development into strong, versatile performers.

Pastoral Care

Our reputation is built on an ethos of caring and nurturing individuals and this care has been recognised as outstanding by Ofsted.

Urdang places the utmost importance on the pastoral care of its students, conscious that for many this will be their first time living away from home, with many new to London. The Academy’s pastoral team provides student support and advice in many practical areas and can offer advice on accommodation, finance and related issues.

Urdang operates an open door policy so students may have private interviews with the Principal, the Pastoral Liaison Officers or other staff members on request.

Treatment Department

A performer’s body needs to be kept in peak physical condition in order to cope with the demanding nature of training in the performing arts. It is Urdang’s mission to keep our students’ injuries to an absolute minimum.

Our team of therapists can attend to student injuries quickly and efficiently so that time away from training is minimised. The majority of injuries and accidents can be treated on-site in our fully equipped treatment facilities.

Osteopathy, Acupuncture, Pilates, Sports Massage make up the treatments on offer to help support student rehabilitation from injury.  Our Treatment Department boasts an on-site Pilates studio which has a clinical Reformer/Tower and other various pieces of equipment.  From January each year, all students are also offered rehabilitation classes.

Students are strongly advised to take out the private insurance option, which is offered to all new students during induction. Referrals to specialists and private hospital treatment may be needed in certain circumstances and the insurance option allows for quick and efficient specialist care.

Finding a Doctor

Once students have decided where to live they are then required to register with a General Practitioner Doctor (GP) in their area. Names and addresses of GPs in your area can be obtained from your hostel or local library. Students can also log on to www.nhs.uk and use the ‘Find and choose services’ link.

"The quality of the injury support is outstanding."

OFSTED

2015

"Students are overwhelmingly positive about the course and the care that is taken of them. "

Key Dates

Open Days & Auditions 2018/2019

Open days

from 1.30pm
Friday 5th October 2018 (fully booked)

Monday 15th October 2018 (fully booked)

Monday 5th November 2018

Friday 16th November 2018

Friday 23rd November 2018

Friday 18th January 2019

Monday 21st January 2019

Monday 11th March 2019
(+Teachers’ Open Day from 9.30am contact us for more details)

Auditions

From 8.30am
Sunday 4th November 2018

Sunday 18th November 2018

Sunday 9th December 2018

Sunday 13th January 2019

Sunday 20th January 2019

Sunday 27th January 2019

Wednesday 30th January 2019

Further dates tbc

Term Dates 2018/2019

Degree First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 17th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Reading Week
Monday 8th April 2019 to Friday 12th April 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Degree Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Wednesday 2nd January 2019 to Friday 17th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Reading Week
Monday 8th April 2019 to Friday 12th April 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Degree Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Thursday 3rd January 2019 to Saturday 11th May 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Dissertation Hand-in
Friday 26th April 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 13th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Diploma First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to
Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 10th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes 2019
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Diploma Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 10th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes 2019
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Diploma Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to
Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Thursday 3rd January 2019 Saturday 11th May 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 13th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Foundation

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Wednesday 12th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

AVT First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Wednesday 12th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

AVT Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Performances 2018/2019

Third Year Musicals

Bernie Grant Arts Centre
The Wedding Singer
8th & 9th February 2019

The Secret Garden
15th & 16th February 2019

Spring Awakening
22nd & 23rd February 2019

Merrily We Roll Along
1st & 2nd March 2019

Bad Girls
8th & 9th March 2019

Link Graduate Showcase

8th to 11th May 2019

Foundation/ Second Year AVT Showcase

Thursday 16th May 2019

Pre Audition Courses/Summer School 2018/2019

Pre Audition Course

Autumn 2018
Monday 22nd October 2018 - Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
TBC

Summer 2019
Monday 22nd July 2019 - Friday 26th July 2019

Summer School

Summer 2019 - Week 1
Monday 29th July 2019 – Friday 2nd August 2019

Summer 2019 - Week 2
Monday 5th August 2019 – Friday 9th August 2019

Applications

Applications for Auditions and Open Days for 2019 entry are now open.

Auditions commence in November and last a whole day. Once you have registered,  you will also be able to sign up for a free Open Day with up to two named guests. (see KEY DATES)

If you registered prior to 25th September 2018, you will have to reset your password* as we have now improved our security systems. No previous applications will have been saved. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Find out how it works