Urdang Academy

THE STAGE RELEASES ARTICLE ABOUT OUR AMAZING NEW PATRONS

Matt Henry and Drew McOnie among new patrons of Urdang Academy

‘Olivier award-winning performer Matt Henry is one of seven new patrons to be announced by Urdang Academy.

Other patrons appointed by the London-based drama school include choreographers Drew McOnie and Dean Lee and composer, performer and producer Andrew Lippa.

Casting directors Pippa Ailion, Natalie Gallagher and Trevor Jackson complete the list.

The patrons were announced at an event in central London.

Henry, who trained at Urdang, said: “I very feel honoured to be invited back as a patron of this school.

“I’ve gone full circle and now I hope I can be that beacon of inspiration to all the students who will pass through its doors.

“There’s nothing more rewarding than giving back, giving each student the opportunity to develop into the future stars of tomorrow.”

Jackson added: “It is certainly true that I am passionate about training and I also believe that there is a vast, untapped seam of raw talent in this country that flounders due to the lack of access to training for reasons of background, geography and finance.

“Addressing this problem was at the heart of what [the school’s founder] Leonie Urdang set out to do when she opened the school, and it is an ethos that has been continued and amplified by Solange [Urdang, chief executive].”

Urdang Academy also announced that it has become a member of the Council of British International Schools, which is an association that aims to advance the interests of British schools overseas.

The drama school revealed it plans to expand its work internationally in Europe, Asia and America, which will include delivering workshops abroad and hosting more international students in London.’

by Giverny Masso

Key Dates

Open Days & Auditions 2018/2019

Open days

Friday 23rd November 2018 (fully booked)

Friday 18th January 2019 (fully booked)

Monday 21st January 2019 (fully booked)

Monday 11th March 2019
(+Teachers’ Open Day from 9.30am contact us for more details)

If you wish to attend an Open Day that is fully booked email admissions@theurdang.london with your preferred date, the name of the applicant and any guests, to join a waiting list.

Auditions

From 8.30am
Sunday 9th December 2018 (fully booked)

Sunday 13th January 2019 (fully booked)

Sunday 20th January 2019 (fully booked)

Sunday 27th January 2019

Wednesday 30th January 2019

Wednesday 13th February 2019

Monday 18th February 2019

Tuesday 19th February 2019

Wednesday 20th February 2019

Wednesday 6th March 2019

Further dates TBC

When you apply you will be allocated the next available date by email. You can either confirm this date or select an alternative.

Term Dates 2018/2019

Degree First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 17th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Reading Week
Monday 8th April 2019 to Friday 12th April 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Degree Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Wednesday 2nd January 2019 to Friday 17th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Reading Week
Monday 8th April 2019 to Friday 12th April 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Degree Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Thursday 3rd January 2019 to Saturday 11th May 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Dissertation Hand-in
Friday 26th April 2019

Summer 2019 (optional)
Semester Three
Monday 13th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Diploma First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Monday 10th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to
Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 10th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes 2019
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Diploma Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Friday 10th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Sunday 14th July 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Assessment Retakes 2019
For any students that need to retake assessments from December and April

Monday 15th July 2019 to Wednesday 17th July 2019

Diploma Third year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to
Friday 14th September 2018

Semester One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Semester Two
Thursday 3rd January 2019 Saturday 11th May 2019

Easter Break
Friday 19th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Summer 2019
Semester Three
Monday 13th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Foundation

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Wednesday 12th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

AVT First year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Wednesday 12th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

AVT Second year

Autumn 2018
Induction Week
Thursday 13th September 2018 to Friday 14th September 2018

Term One
Monday 17th September 2018 to Wednesday 19th December 2018

Half Term
Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
Term Two
Monday 7th January 2019 to Thursday 16th May 2019

Half Term
Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Easter Break
Monday 15th April 2019 to Monday 22nd April 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 6th May 2019

Summer 2019
Term Three
Monday 20th May 2019 to Friday 14th June 2019

Bank Holiday
Monday 27th May 2019

Performances 2018/2019

Third Year Musicals

Bernie Grant Arts Centre
The Wedding Singer
8th & 9th February 2019

The Secret Garden
15th & 16th February 2019

Spring Awakening
22nd & 23rd February 2019

Merrily We Roll Along
1st & 2nd March 2019

Bad Girls
8th & 9th March 2019

Link Graduate Showcase

8th to 11th May 2019

Foundation/ Second Year AVT Showcase

Thursday 16th May 2019

Pre Audition Courses/Summer School 2018/2019

Pre Audition Course

Autumn 2018
Monday 22nd October 2018 - Friday 26th October 2018

Spring 2019
TBC

Summer 2019
Monday 22nd July 2019 - Friday 26th July 2019

Summer School

Summer 2019 - Week 1
Monday 29th July 2019 – Friday 2nd August 2019

Summer 2019 - Week 2
Monday 5th August 2019 – Friday 9th August 2019

Applications

Applications for Auditions and Open Days for 2019 entry are now open.

Auditions commence in November and last a whole day. Once you have registered,  you will also be able to sign up for a free Open Day with up to two named guests. (see KEY DATES)

If you registered prior to 25th September 2018, you will have to reset your password* as we have now improved our security systems. No previous applications will have been saved. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Find out how it works